Leave a comment

I don’t like it

My parents are getting older and I don’t like it.  I didn’t realize how scary it was going to be when it happened to me.  My father had a scheduled triple bypass that turned into a quadrupedal bypass in December and then just as my father gets back on his feet my mother falls and breaks her hip a couple of weeks ago.  I’m just not ready for their decline.  I was the baby and they had me late in life so they are older, 70 and 72 respectively and I am 33.  I haven’t known them long enough as an adult yet for this to be happening.  I’ve never asked but I often wonder how my brothers and sisters feel, do they feel the same way as I do?  Maybe I feel this way because I don’t live close to them and I don’t get to see them as often as I’d like to.

Leave a comment